Approval of Revisions to Regents' Policy 10.02.040

# CURRENT LANGUAGE WITH TRACK CHANGES for PROPOSED LANGUAGE CHANGES

## P10.02.040. Academic Unit Establishment, Major Revision, and Elimination.

- A. Academic units are created within the university for the purposes of instruction, research, advanced study, outreach, or economic development. All such units, at any level of the university structure, must provide for the effective management and productivity of their activities. Degree and Certificate programs approved by the board or president in accordance with P10.04.020 may be offered only within accredited units.
- B. Campuses, schools, colleges, and designated research institutes and academic units with systemwide responsibilities may not be created or eliminated without board approval. Academic units at lower levels, if they employ or are intended to employ tenured or tenure track faculty, or if they deliver or are intended to deliver certificate or degree programs, such as part of a college, school, or research institute, or centers, may be created or eliminated by the president at the request of a chancellor with notification to the-bloa[(A)4+at (the.0032;fetiOntiof1th(tpo32ip)2)(t))6yatnid(tC)2t(fft)3({044(e)}2121(tt032)2)(tt032)2)(tt032)2(tfft))2

#### College of Business and Public Policy Institute of Social and Economic Research (AS 14.40.110)

College of Health School of Allied Health School of Nursing Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies (AS 14.40.088) School of Social Work WWAMI School of Medical Education

College of Education

School of Engineering

## UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS

College of Engineering and Mines Mineral Industry Research Laboratory (AS 14.40.115) College of Liberal Arts Alaska Native Languages Center (AS 14.40.117)

College of Natural Science and Mathematics

College of Rural and Community Development Bristol Bay Campus, Dillingham Chukchi Campus, Kotzebue Interior-Aleutians Campus, Hq Fairbanks Kuskokwim Campus, Bethel Northwest Campus, Nome Community and Technical College, Fairbanks

Cooperative Extension Service

School of Education

School of Management

School of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences

## Kodiak Center for Seafood and Marine Science

Institute of Marine Science (AS 14.40.080) Seward Marine Center

## Geophysical Institute

Alaska Earthquake Information Center (AS 14.40.075)

with notification to the board, or at the discretion of the president, by the board. The president will determine when a revision to an academic unit is sufficiently major to require approval by the board. Elimination or major revision of a unit at any level, if the unit employs tenured or tenure track faculty or delivers degree or certificate programs, will require a program review as specified in P10.06.010 and university regulation. [The existing policy is too cumbersome; research units, in particular, have been created and eliminated mainly due to federal funding decisions.]

- C. Faculty from more than one MAU may be affiliated with a unit, following agreement between the appropriate chancellors and the president as appropriate, as to the type of affiliation, accreditation requirements, and other contractual obligations.
- D. Approval of the board is required to create units as specified in this section and to eliminate or significantly modify the following University units:

#### UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA ANCHORAGE

Community Campuses Kenai Peninsula College Kodiak College Matanuska-Susitna College Prince William Sound Community College

College of Arts and Sciences Alaska State Climate Center (AS 14.10.085)

College of Business and Public Policy Institute of Social and Economic Research (AS 14.40.110)

College of Health School of Allied Health School of Nursing Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies (AS 14.40.088) School of Social Work WWAMI School of Medical Education

College of Education

School of Engineering

Community and Technical College

University Honors College

## UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS

College of Engineering and Mines Mineral Indust

# UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA SOUTHEAST

Juneau Campus Ketchikan Campus Sitka Campus

School of Management School of Arts & Sciences School of Career Education School of Education